Lower Division Instruction2019-01-16T17:03:34+00:00

Lower Division Instruction

The Lower Division Instruction Program provides first and second year biology courses designed for life science majors, as well as for the “core science” requirements for Texas A&M University. Housed on the 3rd floor of Heldenfels Hall, the Lower Division Instruction Program is dedicated to fulfilling the educational needs of its students and has recently been awarded a 3-star sustainability rating from the Office of Sustainability.

American Opportunity Tax Credit

Because of new legislation, for the first time ever, college students (or parents) may be able to claim tax refunds or tax credits for the course materials they buy – including textbooks.  To be eligible, you must keep your textbook receipts & school transcripts. It could be worth up to $2,500 per student!  Visit the American opportunity tax credit website for more details. (some restrictions apply)

CONTACT

Office

HOURS: Monday – Friday 8 am to 5 pm
LOCATION: 315 Heldenfels
PHONE: (979) 845-4651
FAX: (979) 458-2030
E-MAIL: introbio@bio.tamu.edu

Biology Help Desk:
Students needing help with material presented in one of the 100 level biology courses can get one-on-one help from a Teaching Assistant.

LOCATION: HELD 317A
PHONE: (979) 845-4653
E-MAIL: introbio@bio.tamu.edu

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA), does not permit faculty or staff to report grades by phone or e-mail.  Please use the forms linked in the menu above to request grade checks or exam challenges.

Name Title Office Email
Lower Division Office 845-4651 introbio@bio.tamu.edu
Dr. Ira Greenbaum Director 845-7791 ira@bio.tamu.edu
Camy Sturdivant Associate Director 845-4605 csturdivant@bio.tamu.edu
Chris Lee Teaching Coordinator 458-3399 clee@bio.tamu.edu
Monique Reed Technical Laboratory Coordinator 845-8650 monique@bio.tamu.edu
Urania Wells Administrative Assistant 845-6225 uwells@bio.tamu.edu
Tylesha Ramirez Senior Office Assistant 845-4651 tramirez@bio.tamu.edu
Aurelio Cadena Technician II 845-4679 acadena@bio.tamu.edu
Elaina Murray Technician II 845-4679 emurray@bio.tamu.edu
Manny Hailemariam Technician II 845-4679 ahailemariam@bio.tamu.edu

Faculty

Phone numbers & email addresses

Name Title Office Course Email
Aufderheide, Karl Professor Emeritus BSBW 101A,
845-7775
Biology 112 kauf@bio.tamu.edu
Kemp, Michael Professor BSBW 100,
862-8367
Biology 111 mkemp@bio.tamu.edu
Lee, Christopher Lecturer HELD 315,
458-3399
Biology 112 clee@bio.tamu.edu
MacKenzie, Duncan Associate Professor 306E BSBE,
845-7701
Biology 112 Honors duncan@bio.tamu.edu
Rao, Asha Lecturer HELD 320A,
845-7766
Biology 111, 113 arao@bio.tamu.edu
Tag, Andrew Lecturer HELD 320D,
845-1944
Biology 111, 112 atag@bio.tamu.edu
Hawkins, Angela Lecturer HELD 320C,
862-7707
Biology 111 ahawkins@bio.tamu.edu
Le Boeuf, Brigette Lecturer Biology 111 bleboeuf@bio.tamu.edu
Winemiller, Leslie Senior Lecturer HELD 320,
862-7484
Biology 107 lesliew@bio.tamu.edu

Spring 2019
Teaching Assistants & Lab Instructors

Phone numbers & email addresses

Students should use the information below to contact their Teaching Assistant, Lab Instructor or Lecturer. If unable to do so, please call 845-4651 or e-mail the Introductory Biology Program Office at introbio@bio.tamu.edu to leave your message.

Name Sections Email
Jasmine Baloch 510 jlbaloch@tamu.edu
Luke Bower 501, 502 lbower88@exchange.tamu.edu
Emma Lehmberg 503, 509 elehmberg@bio.tamu.edu
Terrence Sylvester 504, 505 tsylvester@bio.tamu.edu
Chenyu Wang 507, 508 cwang@bio.tamu.edu
Name Sections Email
Akintayo Akinleye 535, 536, 538, 539, 540, 543 aakinleye@bio.tamu.edu
Joshua Beytebiere 512, 519 jbeytebiere@bio.tamu.edu
Bolaji Durodola 502, 514, 507 bolajidurodola@tamu.edu
Olalekan Faromiki 504, 541, 542 lazenger2001@tamu.edu
Elyssa Garza 516, 520, 531 egarza@bio.tamu.edu
Jimmy Goncalves 503, 533 jgoncalves@bio.tamu.edu
Wangming Ji 506, 537 wji@bio.tamu.edu
Muhiba Kila 505, 508, 509, 511, 523, 526 mkila@bio.tamu.edu
Sachi Mandal 524, 530 smandal@bio.tamu.edu
Aishat Olayiwola 517, 518, 544 aishatolas@tamu.edu
Ricardo Perez 510, 515 rperez@bio.tamu.edu
Yufeng Wan 501, 534 ywan@bio.tamu.edu
Aishatu Yusuf 513, 521, 522 yusufis6@bio.tamu.edu
Name Sections Email
Ben Alexander 544, 545, 547, 549, 550, 551 balexander@bio.tamu.edu
Kasuni Daundasekara 514, 515 kdaundasekara@bio.tamu.edu
Valerie Dietz 531, 538 vdietz@bio.tamu.edu
Sharon Epps 501, 502, 503, 505, 506, 519 sepps@bio.tamu.edu
Julio Gamboa 511, 527 jgamboa@bio.tamu.edu
Ibrahim Gwarzo 512, 537, 521 rahim9@tamu.edu
Toan Hoang 532, 540 htoan169@tamu.edu
Jorden Holland 541, 546 jholland@bio.tamu.edu
Jenna Hulke 504, 517 jhulke@bio.tamu.edu
Simon Kiacz 507, 508 skiacz@cvm.tamu.edu
Jim Kutlowski 509, 528 jkutlowski@bio.tamu.edu
Jacob Lyons 522, 523, 524, 525, 529, 530 jlyons@bio.tamu.edu
Sara Maynard 513, 542 smaynard@bio.tamu.edu
Adriana Mendez-Jimenez 526, 552 adrianamendezj@exchange.tamu.edu
Erin Nguyen 534 e.nguyen@tamu.edu
Aishwarya Sahasrabudhe 553, 554 asahasrabudhe@bio.tamu.edu
Lunda Shen 518, 543 lshen@bio.tamu.edu
Archana Tale 516, 520, 548 archana.tale@tamu.edu
Jie Tian 510, 539 jtian@bio.tamu.edu
Nsikak Unon-Isreal 533, 535, 536 nsikak2311@tamu.edu
Name Sections Email
Zachary Hancock zhancock@bio.tamu.edu
Brian White bwhite@bio.tamu.edu

EXAM CHALLENGE

EXAM GRADECHECK