The Student/Postdoc Research Conference 2018-04-23T08:55:09+00:00

Student/Postdoc Research Conference

The 2018 Student-Postdoc Research Conference will be held Saturday, September 29th.
Abstracts will be due after summer. 
Please email any questions to this address:


Students and postdocs will be selected from the abstracts to give 20-minute talks (15-minute presentation and 5 minutes for questions).  We encourage everyone with a story to tell to present his or her work to the department, even if it hasn’t been published.

Graduate students – most of you have taken Jack McMahan’s class and can use your 10-minute talk as a starting template for your longer 20-minute talk.

The success of last years Data Blitz means that it’s returning to this year’s program.  Ten trainees will be chosen for the data blitz from those who apply and will have the opportunity to give a 1.5-minute, single-slide talk about their poster.  The slide should not include video or animations.

The goal is to articulate a topic in a quick, insightful and clear manner.  These short talks are intended to grab the attention of the audience and will allow presenters to share their ideas in a brief period of time.  This is another way to share your work, attract more people to your posters and increase your visibility within the department!

Where will they be displayed?

  • ILSB Lobby outside of the Auditorium
  • Your Abstract # will be listed in the SPRC 2017 abstract document
  • There will be a poster board with your Abstract # on it
  • Push pins and clips will be provided.

When will I be able to hang my poster?

  • You will have access to ILSB Friday, September 22 from 1 pm – 4 pm.
  • Note: Please have your posters up no later than Friday at 4 pm if you would like to compete for an award!

What do I need to know about making a poster?

  • A document outlining good poster practices can be found here (POSTER GUIDELINES)
  • Many of you will have posters from other meetings you can use.
  • If you are making a new poster, do not feel obligated to produce one of those big, expensive glossy posters.  The modular format printed on your lab printer, when done well, can be just as well and is inexpensive and low stress to prepare. The main thing is that you present SOMETHING.
  • We strongly discourage “lab” posters as a substitute for a poster by individual students.
  • Poster board space available: 4 ft. wide x 4 ft. tall
  • No projected poster presentations. Your main presentation should be a hard copy poster. You can supplement this with images or movies on your laptop.
  • PLEASE NOTE: The Department of Biology no longer has a poster printer. Poster Printing Alternatives (pdf).
SPRC 2016


September 23rd, 2017
Interdisciplinary Life Sciences Building auditorium and lobby

Talks – Session 1

Marko Baloh
Sarah Beagle
Joshua Beytebiere
Jimmy Goncalves

2:00 pm
Data Blitz ** No Animation or Videos **

Kathrina Castillo, PhD
Kristin Consalvo
Jie Tian
Zachary Hancock
Samantha Iiams
Jennifer Jung
Tejas Karhadkar
Shanta Karki
Aldrin Lugena
Ramesh Rijal, PhD
Yu Tang
Alexandra Trott
Xiang Wang
Zhaolan Ding

2:30 pm
Poster Session – Odd Numbered Posters

Kathrina Castillo, PhD
Kristin Consalvo
Jie Tian
Zachary Hancock
Samantha Iiams
Jennifer Jung
Tejas Karhadkar
Shanta Karki
Aldrin Lugena
Ramesh Rijal, PhD
Ana Suescun, PhD
Yu Tang
Alexandra Trott
Xiang Wang
Ying Zhang, PhD
Huan Zhang, PhD
Michael Werry
Andrew Sakla
Zhaolan Ding

3:30 pm 
Poster Session – Even Numbered Posters

Sarah Westlake
Chenyu Wang
Jing Shi, PhD
Lunda Shen
Kathleen McAllister
Andrea Martinez Aguirre
Sabyasachi Mandal
Krishna Kumar
Katrina Hofstetter
Ben Greenwell
Mengxin Geng
Guo Fu, PhD
Disha Battacharjee
Cheng Wu
Young-Ho Jung
Abira Sahu
Alyson Brokaw
Ananya Dasgupta

4:30 pm
Talks – Session 2

Matt Lee, PhD
Ritu Shrestha
Patrick Suess
Yufeng Wan

SPRC Organizing Committee

Beiyan Nan (chair)
Steve Lockless

Hongmin Qin
Jimmy Goncalves
Jennifer Jung
Jennifer Bradford
McKensie Daugherty

Dr. Tom McKnight Presents the awards:

Best Talk: Patrick Suess

Best Posters: Samantha Iiams & Alexandra Trott

2017 SPRC Poster Sessions Highlights