Lower Division Instruction 2017-09-01T10:06:49+00:00

Lower Division Instruction

The Lower Division Instruction Program provides first and second year biology courses designed for life science majors, as well as for the “core science” requirements for Texas A&M University. Housed on the 3rd floor of Heldenfels Hall, the Lower Division Instruction Program is dedicated to fulfilling the educational needs of its students and has recently been awarded a 3-star sustainability rating from the Office of Sustainability.

American Opportunity Tax Credit

Because of new legislation, for the first time ever, college students (or parents) may be able to claim tax refunds or tax credits for the course materials they buy – including textbooks.  To be eligible, you must keep your textbook receipts & school transcripts. It could be worth up to $2,500 per student!  Visit the American opportunity tax credit website for more details. (some restrictions apply)

CONTACT

Office

HOURS: Monday – Friday 8 am to 5 pm
LOCATION: 315 Heldenfels
PHONE: (979) 845-4651
FAX: (979) 458-2030
E-MAIL: introbio@bio.tamu.edu

Biology Help Desk:
Students needing help with material presented in one of the 100 level biology courses can get one-on-one help from a Teaching Assistant.

LOCATION: HELD 317A
PHONE: (979) 845-4653
E-MAIL: introbio@bio.tamu.edu

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA), does not permit faculty or staff to report grades by phone or e-mail.  Please use the forms linked in the menu above to request grade checks or exam challenges.

Name Title Office Email
Lower Division Office 845-4651 introbio@bio.tamu.edu
Dr. Ira Greenbaum Director 845-7791 ira@bio.tamu.edu
Camy Sturdivant Associate Director 845-4605 csturdivant@bio.tamu.edu
Chris Lee Teaching Coordinator 458-3399 clee@bio.tamu.edu
Monique Reed Technical Laboratory Coordinator 845-8650 monique@bio.tamu.edu
Urania Wells Administrative Assistant 845-6225 uwells@bio.tamu.edu
Tylesha Ramirez Senior Office Assistant 845-4651 tramirez@bio.tamu.edu
Marissa Garza Technician II 845-4679 mgarza@bio.tamu.edu
Elaina Murray Technician II 845-4679 emurray@bio.tamu.edu
James Alfieri Technician II 845-4679 jalfieri@bio.tamu.edu
Lillian McAlister Technician I 845-4679 lmcalister@bio.tamu.edu
Aaron Johnson Technician I 845-4679 ajohnson@bio.tamu.edu

Faculty

Phone numbers & email addresses

Name Title Office Course Email
Aufderheide, Karl Associate Professor BSBW 101A,
845-7775
Biology 112 kauf@bio.tamu.edu
Erickson, James Associate Professor BSBW 348C,
845-2204
Biology 111 jerickson@bio.tamu.edu
Griffing, Larry Associate Professor BSBW 104,
845-6493
Biology 112 griffing@bio.tamu.edu
Kemp, Michael Professor 306A Butler,
862-8367
Biology 111 mkemp@bio.tamu.edu
Lee, Christopher Lecturer HELD 315,
458-3399
Biology 112 clee@bio.tamu.edu
Mackenzie, Duncan Associate Professor 306E BSBE,
845-7701
Biology 112 Honors duncan@bio.tamu.edu
Rao, Asha Lecturer HELD 320A,
845-7766
Biology 111 arao@bio.tamu.edu
Ryan, Kathryn Instructional Assistant Professor 226A BSBW,
862-1616
Biology 111 Honors kryan@bio.tamu.edu
Tag, Andrew Lecturer HELD 320D,
845-1944
Biology 111 atag@bio.tamu.edu
Wan, Wei Senior Lecturer HELD 320C,
862-7707
Biology 111 wwan@bio.tamu.edu
Winemiller, Leslie Senior Lecturer HELD 320,
862-7484
Biology 107 lesliew@bio.tamu.edu

Fall 2017
Teaching Assistants & Lab Instructors

Phone numbers & email addresses

Students should use the information below to contact their Teaching Assistant, Lab Instructor or Lecturer. If unable to do so, please call 845-4651 or e-mail the Introductory Biology Program Office at introbio@bio.tamu.edu to leave your message.

Professor: Leslie Winemiller

 Name  Sections  Email
 Dan Powell  501, 502  dpowell@bio.tamu.edu
 David Saenz  503, 504  dsaenz@email.tamu.edu
 Stephen Bovio  505, 506  sbovio@bio.tamu.edu
Chenyu Wang  507, 508  cwang@bio.tamu.edu
Saurev Mohanty 509, 510  smohanty@bio.tamu.edu
Megan Exnicios 511, 512  mexnicios@bio.tamu.edu

Professors: Andrew Tag; James Erickson; Michael Kemp; Wei Wan; LeBoeuf

Name Sections Email
Armstrong, Beth 540, 541, 54, 546, 580, 581 barmstrong@bio.tamu.edu
 Attia, John  531, 545, 579 johnokyere12@email.tamu.edu
 Beckman, Amanda  552, 559 abeckman@bio.tamu.edu
 Beyterbiere, Joshua  576, 577  jbeyterbiere@bio.tamu.edu
 Chen, Ge  516, 524  gchen@bio.tamu.edu
 Dasgupta, Ananya  512, 550  adasgupta@bio.tamu.edu
 Durodola, Bolaji 501, 502, 511  bolajidurodola@email.tamu.edu
 Garcia, Mateo  564, 565  mgarcia@bio.tamu.edu
 Garza, Elyssa  569, 582  egarza@bio.tamu.edu
 Goncalves, Jimmy  563, 568  jgoncalves@bio.tamu.edu
 Gwarzo, Ibrahim  514, 522, 525 rahim9@email.tamu.edu
 Hawkins, Angela  505, 508, 536  ahawkins@bio.tamu.edu
 Hayden, Maureen  538, 544  mhayden@bio.tamu.edu
 Hudson, Ashley  526, 530  ahudson@bio.tamu.edu
 Ji, Wangming  572, 583  wji@bio.tamu.edu
 Kumar, Krishna  553, 573  kkumar@bio.tamu.edu
 Kutlowski, Jim  542, 548  jkutlowski@bio.tamu.edu
 Mandal, Sachi  547, 555  smandal@bio.tamu.edu
 Natarajan, Ulaganathan (Nathan)  554, 556, 557  unatarajan@bio.tamu.edu
 Nerber, Hailee  551, 558  hnerber@bio.tamu.edu
 Olayiwola, Aishat  509, 517, 518  aishatolas@email.tamu.edu
 Raju, Aditi  527, 528  araju@bio.tamu.edu
 Roberson, Whitney  529, 537  wroberson@bio.tamu.edu
 Saini, Shobhna 503, 506, 507 shobhna@email.tamu.edu
 Salzman, Sarah  504, 510  ssalzman@bio.tamu.edu
 Shaik, Rahamthulla  533, 534, 539  rshaik@bio.tamu.edu
 Sharma, Mohit  513, 519, 520  msharma@bio.tamu.edu
 Sung, Minwoo  523, 532  msung@bio.tamu.edu
 Sylvester, Terrence  515, 521  tsylvester@bio.tamu.edu
 Wang, Yufeng  549, 575  ywang@bio.tamu.edu
 White, Brian  570, 571, 574  bwhite@bio.tamu.edu
 Xiang, Wang  566, 567  wxiang@bio.tamu.edu
 Yusif, Aishatu 560, 561, 562  yusifis6@email.tamu.edu
 Zhou, Tianyi 535, 578 tzhou@bio.tamu.edu

Professors: Karl Aufderheide (501-512) and Chris Lee (513-524)

Name Sections Email
 Alexander, Ben  513, 515, 517, 518, 519, 520  balexander@bio.tamu.edu
 Epps, Sharon  504, 505, 506, 507, 516  sepps@bio.tamu.edu
 Lyons, Jacob  510, 5111, 512, 514, 521, 522  jlyons@bio.tamu.edu
 Mendez-Jimenez, Adriana  503, 509  adrianamendezj@email.tamu.edu
 Shen, Lunda  501, 502  lshen@bio.tamu.edu
 Tian, Jie  523, 524  jtian@bio.tamu.edu

Professor: Leslie Winemiller

Name Sections Email
 Chloe Bennett  501, 502, 503  cbennett@bio.tamu.edu
 Youngho Jung  504, 507, 508  jajung@bio.tamu.edu

Summer 2017
Teaching Assistants & Lab Instructors

Name Sections Email
Shen, Lunda 201 lshen@bio.tamu.edu
Tian, Jie 202 jtian@bio.tamu.edu
Dasgupta, Ananya 203 adasgupta@bio.tamu.edu
Sun, Yi 204 ysun@bio.tamu.edu
Xiang, Wang (Daisy) 205 wxiang@bio.tamu.edu

Spring 2017
Teaching Assistants & Lab Instructors

Phone numbers & email addresses

Students should use the information below to contact their Teaching Assistant, Lab Instructor or Lecturer. If unable to do so, please call 845-4651 or e-mail the Introductory Biology Program Office at introbio@bio.tamu.edu to leave your message.

Check the spring 2017 room schedule grid (pdf) if you’re not sure where your lab is supposed to be meeting.

Professor: Leslie Winemiller

Name Sections Email
Exnicios, Megan 503, 508 mexnicios@bio.tamu.edu
Iftikahar, Hina 504, 506 hifitkhar@bio.tamu.edu
Mohanty, Saurav 505, 507 smohanty@bio.tamu.edu
Whitener, Amy 501, 502 awhitener@bio.tamu.edu

Professors: Andrew Tag; Asha Rao; Michael Kemp; Wei Wan

Name Sections Email
Armstrong, Beth 501, 502, 505, 511, 519. 520 barmstrong@bio.tamu.edu
Bankefa, Ayodele 512, 513, 538 abankefa@bio.tamu.edu
Fan, Yumeng 503, 504 yfan@bio.tamu.edu
Hawkins, Angela 509, 535, 536 ahawkins@bio.tamu.edu
Jung, Young-Ho 515, 518 yjung@bio.tamu.edu
Lin, Jianfeng 514, 537 jlin@bio.tamu.edu 
Ndeda, Violet 510, 528 vndeda@bio.tamu.edu
Saini, Shobhna 522, 526, 527 shobhna@email.tamu.edu
Singh, Avantika 508, 540 asingh@bio.tamu.edu 
Sun, Yi 523, 532 ysun@bio.tamu.edu
Tian, Jie 506, 507 jtian@bio.tamu.edu
Wilson, Cassandra 530, 533, 534 cwilson@bio.tamu.edu
Xiang, Wang 517, 521 wxiang@bio.tamu.edu
Zhou, Jian 531, 539 jzhou@bio.tamu.edu

Professors: Carol Johnson (501-516) and Chris Lee (517-524)

Name Sections Email
Alexander, Ben 501, 534, 537, 538, 540, 543 malexander@bio.tamu.edu
Consalvo, Kristen 524, 526 kconsalvo@bio.tamu.edu
Epps, Sharon 508, 509, 515, 522, 523, 525 sepps@bio.tamu.edu
Garcia, Mateo 536, 539 mgarcia@bio.tamu.edu 
Henderson, Carolyn 527, 528 chenderson@bio.tamu.edu
Lugena, Aldrin 512, 513 alugena@bio.tamu.edu
Lyons, Jacob 503, 529, 530, 531, 532, 541 jlyons@bio.tamu.edu
Mendez, Adriana 505, 521, 544 amendez@bio.tamu.edu
Offor, Rita 504, 506, 507 roffor@bio.tamu.edu
Petty, Amanda 511, 514 apetty@bio.tamu.edu
Salzman, Sarah 547, 548 ssalzman@bio.tamu.edu 
Shen, Lunda 545, 546 lshen@bio.tamu.edu
Tan, Amy 535, 550 atan@bio.tamu.edu
Wang, Jenny (Chenyu) 533, 542 cwang@bio.tamu.edu
White, Brian 518, 520, 549 bwhite@bio.tamu.edu
Wudil, Usman 502, 510 uwudil@bio.tamu.edu
Xing, Yue 516, 517, 519 xying@bio.tamu.edu 

Professor: Duncan Mackenzie

Name Sections Email
Anderson, Andrew all aanderson@bio.tamu.edu
Green, David dgree@bio.tamu.edu

Professor: Leslie Winemiller

Name Sections Email
Lai Hing, Stephen all slaihing@bio.tamu.edu

EXAM CHALLENGE

EXAM GRADECHECK