Lower Division Instruction 2018-02-01T11:26:03+00:00

Lower Division Instruction

The Lower Division Instruction Program provides first and second year biology courses designed for life science majors, as well as for the “core science” requirements for Texas A&M University. Housed on the 3rd floor of Heldenfels Hall, the Lower Division Instruction Program is dedicated to fulfilling the educational needs of its students and has recently been awarded a 3-star sustainability rating from the Office of Sustainability.

American Opportunity Tax Credit

Because of new legislation, for the first time ever, college students (or parents) may be able to claim tax refunds or tax credits for the course materials they buy – including textbooks.  To be eligible, you must keep your textbook receipts & school transcripts. It could be worth up to $2,500 per student!  Visit the American opportunity tax credit website for more details. (some restrictions apply)

CONTACT

Office

HOURS: Monday – Friday 8 am to 5 pm
LOCATION: 315 Heldenfels
PHONE: (979) 845-4651
FAX: (979) 458-2030
E-MAIL: introbio@bio.tamu.edu

Biology Help Desk:
Students needing help with material presented in one of the 100 level biology courses can get one-on-one help from a Teaching Assistant.

LOCATION: HELD 317A
PHONE: (979) 845-4653
E-MAIL: introbio@bio.tamu.edu

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA), does not permit faculty or staff to report grades by phone or e-mail.  Please use the forms linked in the menu above to request grade checks or exam challenges.

Name Title Office Email
Lower Division Office 845-4651 introbio@bio.tamu.edu
Dr. Ira Greenbaum Director 845-7791 ira@bio.tamu.edu
Camy Sturdivant Associate Director 845-4605 csturdivant@bio.tamu.edu
Chris Lee Teaching Coordinator 458-3399 clee@bio.tamu.edu
Monique Reed Technical Laboratory Coordinator 845-8650 monique@bio.tamu.edu
Urania Wells Administrative Assistant 845-6225 uwells@bio.tamu.edu
Tylesha Ramirez Senior Office Assistant 845-4651 tramirez@bio.tamu.edu
Elaina Murray Technician II 845-4679 emurray@bio.tamu.edu
James Alfieri Technician II 845-4679 jalfieri@bio.tamu.edu
Lillian McAlister Technician I 845-4679 lmcalister@bio.tamu.edu

Faculty

Phone numbers & email addresses

Name Title Office Course Email
Aufderheide, Karl Associate Professor BSBW 101A,
845-7775
Biology 112 kauf@bio.tamu.edu
Kemp, Michael Professor BSBW 100,
862-8367
Biology 111 mkemp@bio.tamu.edu
Lee, Christopher Lecturer HELD 315,
458-3399
Biology 112 clee@bio.tamu.edu
MacKenzie, Duncan Associate Professor 306E BSBE,
845-7701
Biology 112 Honors duncan@bio.tamu.edu
Rao, Asha Lecturer HELD 320A,
845-7766
Biology 111, 113 arao@bio.tamu.edu
Tag, Andrew Lecturer HELD 320D,
845-1944
Biology 111, 112 atag@bio.tamu.edu
Wan, Wei Senior Lecturer HELD 320C,
862-7707
Biology 111 wwan@bio.tamu.edu
Winemiller, Leslie Senior Lecturer HELD 320,
862-7484
Biology 107 lesliew@bio.tamu.edu

Spring 2018
Teaching Assistants & Lab Instructors

Phone numbers & email addresses

Students should use the information below to contact their Teaching Assistant, Lab Instructor or Lecturer. If unable to do so, please call 845-4651 or e-mail the Introductory Biology Program Office at introbio@bio.tamu.edu to leave your message.

Professor:

 Name  Sections  Email
 David Saenz  501, 510  dsaenz@tamu.edu
 Dan Powell  502, 509  dpowell@bio.tamu.edu
 Stephen Bovio  503, 504  rbovio@bio.tamu.edu
 Megan Exnicios  505, 506  mexnicios@bio.tamu.edu
 Jenny Wang  507, 508  cwang@bio.tamu.edu
Name Sections Email
Adamu, Rakiya  515, 541 rakiyaadamu@tamu.edu
Armstrong, Beth 512, 513, 516, 519, 520, 521 barmstrong@bio.tamu.edu
Bennett, Chloe  526, 535 cbennett@bio.tamu.edu
Ding, Zhaolan  508, 510  zding@bio.tamu.edu
Durodola, Bolaji  517, 518, 543  bolajidurodola@email.tamu.edu
Garza, Elyssa  527, 533, 536  egarza@bio.tamu.edu
Greenwell, Ben  531, 534  bgreenwell@bio.tamu.edu
Jung, Young-Ho  524, 525  yjung@bio.tamu.edu
Kila, Muhiba  501, 505, 511  beekila16@tamu.edu
Olayiwola, Aishat  514, 522, 539  aishatolas@email.tamu.edu
Osborne, A. Collin  523, 530  cosborne@bio.tamu.edu
Salzman, Sarah  529, 544  ssalzman@bio.tamu.edu
Trott, Alexandra  503, 538  atrott@bio.tamu.edu
Ubon-Israel, Nsikak  506, 509, 537  nsikak2311@tamu.edu
Yusif, Aishatu  502, 504, 542 yusifis6@email.tamu.edu
 Zhou, Tianyi 507, 540 tzhou@bio.tamu.edu
Name Sections Email
 Ahmed, Usman  512, 537  uahmed@tamu.edu
 Alexander, Ben 531, 532, 534, 535, 542, 546  balexander@bio.tamu.edu
 Beckman, Amanda  523, 538  akb13@tamu.edu
 Brar, Armandeep. 504, 507, 510  guraman1@tamu.edu
 Chen, Ge  518, 533  gchen@bio.tamu.edu
 Epps, Sharon  501, 502, 503, 505, 506, 519  sepps@bio.tamu.edu
 Faromiki, Olalekah 543, 552 lazenger2001@tamu.edu
 Gwarzo, Ibrahim  514, 516, 517  rahim9@tamu.edu
 Kutlowski, James 529, 539  jkutlowski@bio.tamu.edu
 Lyons, Jacob 544, 545, 547, 549, 550, 551  jlyons@bio.tamu.edu
Mendez Jimenez, Adriana 513, 522, 530  adrianamendezj@exchange.tamu.edu
Raju, Aditi 536, 541  araju@bio.tamu.edu
Roberson, Whitney 525, 527  wroberson@bio.tamu.edu
Sharma, Mohit 526, 540, 548  s.mohit12@tamu.edu
Shen, Lunda 553, 554  lshen@bio.tamu.edu
Sylvester, Terrence 508, 509  tsylvester@bio.tamu.edu
Tian, Jie 515, 520  jtian@bio.tamu.edu
White, Brian 511, 521  bwhite@bio.tamu.edu
Xiang, Wang 524, 528  wxiang@bio.tamu.edu
Name Sections Email
 Chris Holland  203, 204  cholland@bio.tamu.edu
 Drew Anderson  201, 202  aanderson@bio.tamu.edu

Professor: Asha Rao

Name Sections Email
Angela Hawkins ahawkins@bio.tamu.edu

EXAM CHALLENGE

EXAM GRADECHECK