Lower Division Instruction2018-09-25T15:03:15+00:00

Lower Division Instruction

The Lower Division Instruction Program provides first and second year biology courses designed for life science majors, as well as for the “core science” requirements for Texas A&M University. Housed on the 3rd floor of Heldenfels Hall, the Lower Division Instruction Program is dedicated to fulfilling the educational needs of its students and has recently been awarded a 3-star sustainability rating from the Office of Sustainability.

American Opportunity Tax Credit

Because of new legislation, for the first time ever, college students (or parents) may be able to claim tax refunds or tax credits for the course materials they buy – including textbooks.  To be eligible, you must keep your textbook receipts & school transcripts. It could be worth up to $2,500 per student!  Visit the American opportunity tax credit website for more details. (some restrictions apply)

CONTACT

Office

HOURS: Monday – Friday 8 am to 5 pm
LOCATION: 315 Heldenfels
PHONE: (979) 845-4651
FAX: (979) 458-2030
E-MAIL: introbio@bio.tamu.edu

Biology Help Desk:
Students needing help with material presented in one of the 100 level biology courses can get one-on-one help from a Teaching Assistant.

LOCATION: HELD 317A
PHONE: (979) 845-4653
E-MAIL: introbio@bio.tamu.edu

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA), does not permit faculty or staff to report grades by phone or e-mail.  Please use the forms linked in the menu above to request grade checks or exam challenges.

Name Title Office Email
Lower Division Office 845-4651 introbio@bio.tamu.edu
Dr. Ira Greenbaum Director 845-7791 ira@bio.tamu.edu
Camy Sturdivant Associate Director 845-4605 csturdivant@bio.tamu.edu
Chris Lee Teaching Coordinator 458-3399 clee@bio.tamu.edu
Monique Reed Technical Laboratory Coordinator 845-8650 monique@bio.tamu.edu
Urania Wells Administrative Coordinator I 845-6225 uwells@bio.tamu.edu
Tylesha Ramirez Administrative Associate I 845-4651 tramirez@bio.tamu.edu
Elaina Murray Technician II 845-4679 emurray@bio.tamu.edu
Aurelio Cadena Technician I 845-4679 acadena@bio.tamu.edu
Manny Hailemariam Technician I 845-4679 ahailemariam@bio.tamu.edu

Faculty

Phone numbers & email addresses

Name Title Office Course Email
Aufderheide, Karl Associate Professor BSBW 101A,
845-7775
Biology 112 kauf@bio.tamu.edu
Kemp, Michael Professor BSBW 100,
862-8367
Biology 111 mkemp@bio.tamu.edu
Lee, Christopher Lecturer HELD 315,
458-3399
Biology 112 clee@bio.tamu.edu
MacKenzie, Duncan Associate Professor 306E BSBE,
845-7701
Biology 112 Honors duncan@bio.tamu.edu
Rao, Asha Lecturer HELD 320A,
845-7766
Biology 111, 113 arao@bio.tamu.edu
Tag, Andrew Lecturer HELD 320D,
845-1944
Biology 111, 112 atag@bio.tamu.edu
Winemiller, Leslie Senior Lecturer HELD 320,
862-7484
Biology 107 lesliew@bio.tamu.edu
LeBoeuf, Brigitte Lecturer HELD 319,
845-9508
Biology 111 bleboeuf@bio.tamu.edu
Hawkins, Angela Lecturer HELD 320C,
845-2683
Biology 112 ahawkins@bio.tamu.edu

Fall 2018
Teaching Assistants & Lab Instructors

Phone numbers & email addresses

Students should use the information below to contact their Teaching Assistant, Lab Instructor or Lecturer. If unable to do so, please call 845-4651 or e-mail the Introductory Biology Program Office at introbio@bio.tamu.edu to leave your message.

Professor:

 Name  Sections  Email
 Jasmine Baloch  503, 504  jbaloch@bio.tamu.edu
 Luke Bower  507, 508  lbower@bio.tamu.edu
Erin Buchholtz 511, 512  ebuchholtz@bio.tamu.edu
 Dan Powell  505, 506  dpowell@bio.tamu.edu
 David Saenz  509, 510  dsaenz@tamu.edu
 Jenny Wang  501, 502  cwang@bio.tamu.edu
Name Sections Email
Adamu, Rakiya  512, 513, 514 rakiyaadamu@tamu.edu
Adamu, Yau  501, 505, 564 yadamu@bio.tamu.edu
Ahmed, Usman  507, 569, 570  uahmed@bio.tamu.edu
Akintayo, Akinleye  527, 528, 531, 532, 533, 534  aakintayo@bio.tamu.edu
Dietz, Valerie  515, 525  vdietz@bio.tamu.edu
Durodola, Bolaji 506, 568, 578  bolajidurodola@email.tamu.edu
Faromiki, Olalekan 580, 582, 583  ofaromiki@bio.tamu.edu
Firmin, Duraneisha 522, 574, 579  dfirmin@bio.tamu.edu
Daundasekara, Kasuni 521, 523  kdaundesekara@bio.tamu.edu
Geng, Mengxin  536, 577  mgeng@bio.tamu.edu
Giri, Dharmraj  537, 538  dgiri@bio.tamu.edu
Gwarzo, Ibrahim  503, 511, 535  igwarzo@bio.tamu.edu
Hoang, Toan  530, 555  thoang@bio.tamu.edu
Holland, Jorden  569, 549  jholland@bio.tamu.edu
Hulke, Jenna  541, 547  jhulke@bio.tamu.edu
Hudson, Ashley  572, 573  ahudson@bio.tamu.edu
Jung, Young-Ho  562, 571  yjung@bio.tamu.edu
Kiacz, Simon  508, 554  skiacz@bio.tamu.edu
Kila, Muhiba 539, 540, 543, 544, 545, 546  mkila@bio.tamu.edu
Kutlowski, Jim  502, 552  jkutlowski@bio.tamu.edu
Lehmberg, Emma  548, 550  elehmberg@bio.tamu.edu
Maynard, Sara  508, 524  smaynard@bio.tamu.edu
Natarajan, Ulaganathan  516, 519, 520  nulaganathan@bio.tamu.edu
Nguyen, Erin  542  enguyen@bio.tamu.edu
Olayiwola, Aishat  509, 517, 518  aishatolas@email.tamu.edu
Perez, Ricardo  565, 575  rperez@bio.tamu.edu
Rincones Gamboa, Julio  529, 556  jgamboa@bio.tamu.edu
Sahasrabudhe, Aishwarya  504, 510  asahasrabudhe@bio.tamu.edu
Tale, Archana  553, 559, 561  atale@bio.tamu.edu
Tian, Jie 576, 581  jtian@bio.tamu.edu
Ubon-Israel, Nsikak 551, 566, 567  nsikak2311@tamu.edu
Yusif, Aishatu 569, 557, 558 yusifis6@email.tamu.edu
Name Sections Email
 Alexander, Ben 507, 508, 513, 516, 518, 519  balexander@bio.tamu.edu
 Epps, Sharon 514, 520, 521, 522, 523, 524 sepps@bio.tamu.edu
Lyons, Jacob 502, 503, 505, 509, 511  jlyons@bio.tamu.edu
Mendez Jimenez, Adriana 515, 525  adrianamendezj@exchange.tamu.edu
Shen, Lunda 504, 510  lshen@bio.tamu.edu
Sylvester, Terrence 506, 512  tsylvester@bio.tamu.edu
White, Brian 517, 526  bwhite@bio.tamu.edu

Professor: Asha Rao

Name Sections Email
Whitney Roberson wroberson@bio.tamu.edu

EXAM CHALLENGE

EXAM GRADECHECK